What’s this about the law being a jealous mistress?

What’s this about the law being a jealous mistress?
This is not just make-believe! In fact, in my book, Disbarment, I made the following dedication: “To the law….A lawyer’s jealous mistress.”
Although I like to be original, I cannot lay claim to this concept. On the Dedication page I further went on to say:” I believe that the concept of the ” jealous mistress” originated in the writings of Joseph Story, an associate justice of the United States Supreme Court, who served from 1811 to 1845. The statement that he made in full was: “The law is a jealous mistress and requires long and constant courtship. This is not to be won by trifling favorites but by lavish homage.”
After making the said explanation, I added a qualifying statement concerning the fact that nowadays a substantial number of lawyers are women. The statement I made is:
“Authors Note: Perhaps, it would be more appropriate, if I may be so bold as to interpose, that in this day and age we would use the reference, “jealous lovers,’ to define the possessive nature of the law as it applies to both female and male lawyers.”

-JS

Leave a comment